RESOLUTION NO. 2000-44

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ELK GROVE TO ENDORSE THE THREE PROJECTS RECOMMENDED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION FOR FUNDING UNDER PHASE 2 OF TEA-21, AND AUTHORIZING THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION TO SUBMIT THE REQUIRED APPLICATIONS FOR THESE PROJECTS

WHEREAS, the City of Elk Grove may qualify for about \$3-4 million of the \$54 million available for funding under phase 2 of the Federal Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21); and

WHEREAS, the Sacramento County Department of Transportation has identified projects within the City that could be considered as candidates for funding the phase 2 application cycle; and

WHEREAS, applications for phase 2 of the TEA-21 must be submitted to SACOG and the Sacramento Transportation Authority (STA) by October 2, 2000; and

WHEREAS, the Sacramento County Department of Transportation will prepare and submit funding applications on behalf of the City and will represent the City during the project selection/approval process following submittal of applications.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ELK GROVE HEREBY RESOLVES AS FOLLOWS:

The City Council endorses and prioritizes the projects to be submitted as the City's candidates for TEA-21 funding as (1) Elk Grove Boulevard Enhancements, (2) SR99/Bond Road Interchange Landscaping and (3) Bicycle and Pedestrian Improvements (various locations) and authorizes the Department of Transportation to submit the required applications for these projects on behalf of the City; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the City Council endorses the Elk Grove Community Services District (EGCSD) proposed application for funds to construct a bridge/low-flow crossing of Whitehouse Creek to serve the Laguna Creek Trail System.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the City Council of the City of Elk Grove on this 20th day of Sept, 2000, by the following vote:

- AYES: Council Members: SCHERMAN, BRIGGS, SOARES, LEARY, COOPER
- NOES: Council Members: NONE
- ABSENT: Council Members: NONE

ABSTAIN: Council Members: NONE

Japies Cooper, Mayor

ATTEST:

Diana Biddle, City Clerk